Newbie help with FiOS and Motorola 7216 DVR

1 post / 0 new
Newbie help with FiOS and Motorola 7216 DVR

Hello everyone - newbie here.  ot sure if this is in the right spot or not.  If not, my apologies.  Anyway, have had Verizon FiOS about a year now - love it.  However, when they rolled out the service in our area the TV service wa snot availabe yet.  It FINALLY is and we are switching from DISH to FiOS TV.  We never got the DVR with the DISH service so this will be my first DVR experience.

We opted to go with Verizon's Home Media DVR (see here: http://www22.verizon.com/residential/fiostv/EquipmentDetails/EquipmentDe...) and it looks as though at this point they are shipping the Motorola 7216 (at least according to their web site).  This is the model that records high def, let's you stream to other STB's around the house and also ties in to your PC to let you access music playlists and pictures from your PC.  Now, here are my questions:

1)  Can the Moto 7216 hard drive be upgraded?  Or can an external port be used to add an external drive?  Seriously, 160GB for HD???  Who thought of this??  Between my sports, the wife's cop dramas (and soaps, and docu dramas, and... well you get the picture) and the kids stuff - well 160GB will last us maybe a few days.